top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJosh Coleman

Week 11 Journeyman Blog

Updated: May 13, 2021

At the end of last week I said that by the end of this week I would be finished in engine with scripting, have all my art implemented, implement the last boss and finally I would have completed the last level sequence that will play before the final fight of my level.


For the scripting of my level this week I have fully completed every aspect of it. All of the boss scripting and zombie scripting are completed, I am very happy that I have completed this finally. Here I will show you just some of what I have done this week.

This video shows an area where I have used the new stationary boss that I asked for in my documentation in the GDD and I change the boss after the player explores the level for a minute.

This is another place where I utilised the stationary boss, I did this all by using blueprints, which was quite simple, All I would do was spawn the boss, cast to it and set the extent of its 'box' or its attack radius, this also is better for optimisation as I can change this variable here instead of creating 2 extra bosses.

I have used this same methodology all over my project but in the interest of not making this blog too long I will not show this here.


This week I have also fully completed the implementation and Optimisation of all of my level artists art. This week I have completed the implementation of art in the Data Centre, the surrounding 'bullpen', the warehouse and the smaller individual offices.

In these images you can also see where I have added decals to the level (created by one of our artists), this adds another layer of depth to the level and I think allows me to bring the level farther and farther away from boring and normality.


As I said earlier I have also been optimising different areas to:

  1. The game runs better

  2. There is variation, but not too much data.

  3. To make building the levels faster

What I did was I created 3 different variations of desk clutter I could use, This then give me 6 different variations of desks (3 at scale 1, and 3 at scale -1) which is easily enough for a level of this size.

Penultimately I also finished my final level sequence for the game, I would like to add more to it such as a 'Download bar' for the data centre, however I do not have the time currently as all focus' are being put on the Vertical Slice Video.


Lastly I have been optimising using TES, there is Level Streaming functionality built into TES however by the time this was done I did not have the opportunity to do this and so I optimised by once the player reaches a certain point of the level assets will be destroyed or shown.

Next week is hand-in week and so I will not be producing another blog for this Project, from now on I will be working on my reflective essay and the Vertical Slice Video. Thank you for reading.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page