top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJosh Coleman

Week 6 Journeyman

At the end of week 5 I said that I would start to focus on lighting and post processing and so this week that was my objective.


The first thing that I did was put a roof on the building so that the lighting would work, I then started to implement the lights into the level, I used Rect lights as they are the best lighting option to simulate the lights that I want in game.


After this I started to implement the fog and post processing into the level. Doing this adds a lot of extra feel and emotion to the level.


Here was the outcome after some iteration and testing;



This look gave the building an eerie and creepy vibe which is exactly what I wanted to create, I want the player to have a small lull in gameplay and feel the room before the arcadey violence of House of the Dead starts again.


After this I kept communicating with my Level Artist about what I would need in my level and also testing out some assets that that have been created for my level. I would test things from Pivot points to Light Maps on assets and also how the materials look on certain assets in certain lighting scenarios.


Next week I will start to add some assets into the level and get the level closer to the final stage.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page